Book Review: The Diet Cure by Julia Ross

Julia Ross's revised and updated edition of “The Diet Cure” came up today during my nutrition educator training. My fellow nutrition educators were raving about it. My initial thought was, “Ugh, not another diet book.” I have spent so much money on diet books in my life lived with fat, only for them to present such a narrow and incomplete picture of what it takes to lose weight for the long term.

Despite my reservations, I bought a copy, opened to the first page and read this:

“This is not going to be like any diet book you have ever read. I won't mention calories except to forbid you to eat too few! I won't tell you to tune in to your “real” appetite because I know that if you could have you would have long ago. I won't tell you to discipline yourself because I know that your weight and eating habits are not the result of laziness, gluttony, or weak willpower.

Julia Ross's, The Diet Cure

You are trapped inside a body that is malfunctioning, and that body needs help. Years of dieting, psychotherapy, and the best pep talks about fitness can't help much when what you really need is a biochemical overhaul.” –Julia Ross, The Diet Cure

I almost cried. “What if I had read this statement when the book came out in 1999?” I asked myself. I couldn't help but think that I could have started to get good information about the real, biochemical reasons for my obesity (I topped out at 270 lbs) a full decade earlier than I did. Would my weight have gotten so out of control had I known about this book? All the time I spent beating myself up over my weak will, would I have felt differently about why I was obese?

I highly recommend this book to you as you start or continue on your weight loss journey. It answers so many of the “whys” of compulsive eating and weight gain. It also includes an awesome section called, “Depleted Brain Chemistry: The Real Cause of 'Emotional' Eating.” I have always thought that the concept of “emotional eating” is code for “you're fat because you can't control yourself and you are weak willed.” Ross clearly outlines why will and emotion have nothing to do with compulsive eating.

Have you read the book? Let me know what you found helpful!

 

7 Comments on “Book Review: The Diet Cure by Julia Ross”

  1. Kris says:

    Hi! yes, I´ve read Julia´s book, and also “The Mood Cure”, also very interesting about biochemistry. I think Julia Ross is on to something really genius about the worlds obesity problem! I think it´s a breakthrough. Sorry to say, it takes time before new and brilliant ideas get through to the masses. Most people I know, although educated people, believe that obesity is just a result of eating too much, eating fat and getting too many calories – and don´t understand why overweight people don´t just stop eating when they´re full… Just had a discussion an hour ago, during lunch with my colleagues… .-)Trying to explain Julia Ross´ ideas to people who think they already see the whole picture, isn´t easy.

  2. I seldom comment, however after reading a few of the comments on Book
    Review: The Diet Cure by Julia Ross | My Life Lived With Fat.

    I actually do have some questions for you if it’s okay. Could it be simply me or do a few of the responses appear as if they are written by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional sites, I’d
    like to follow anything new you have to post.
    Could you make a list of the complete urls of your shared sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  3. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes
    it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?
    Superb work!

  4. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my
    comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyhow, just wanted to say excellent blog!

  5. Hi i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anywhere,
    when i read this paragraph i thought i could also make comment
    due to this brilliant article.


Leave a Reply

