2 great bags for transporting all the food you need to be healthy

One of my biggest struggles I have with eating real food, in balance (aside from all the planning and prep), is transporting food to work, events, etc. I also bring a huge container of water to work every day, which adds to the problem. Most insulated bags do not have the space or strength to contend with the number meals and snacks that I have to carry around. Until now!

2 great bags from Whole Foods

I stumbled upon two of the most well-designed insulated bags at Whole Foods the other day (believe me, I've gone through many in my day): the insulated messenger bag and the square insulated bag.

Insulated bags from Whole Foods

Insulated bags from Whole Foods

They have nice wide straps that make carrying even the heaviest loads more comfortable. The square bag is smaller than the messenger bag, but it can carry a lot because it doesn't taper at the top like most bags. I use two ice blocks in the large bag and one in the smaller bag to keep stuff cold.

And what's best–I just saw that they have new colors. So you fashion-conscious people can get the bags in berry and blue or whatever color will match your outfit!

What's your favorite tip for transporting real food? Leave a comment.

 

10 Comments on “2 great bags for transporting all the food you need to be healthy”

  1. Great post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I’m inspired! Extremely useful information specifically the final section 🙂 I deal with such info a lot. I was seeking this particular information for a long time. Thanks and good luck.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I stopped at whole foods and could not find the bags. Maybe the were ou of stock. Have u seen them there recently?

  3. Jan says:

    I’m a big fan of bento boxes and tiffens for taking meals to work and carrying food for places where I’m uncertain if I will be able to eat what’s available. These stacked compartmentalized containers allow you to put together healthy foods separated either by the sections of the container, or you can add silicone cupcake containers or other small containers to further separate things. A bento or a tiffen would fit nicely in your insulated bags for carrying.

    There is a definite cool factor in whipping out a bento to eat at a lunch meeting or with a group of co-workers. My $4.99 bento from Cost Plus even includes a separate compartment with included spoon and chopsticks (you can swap out the chopsticks for your own fork).

    If you google bentos you’ll find all sorts of cute ideas for filling them. I like to make an attractive lunch because it seems to really add to my satisfaction for the rest of the afternoon. The Japanese have calculated how many calories on average a bento of a certain size carries, so it’s also a way of portion control (but the Cost Plus bento and my tiffen hold more food than I really need–American sized portions are too big!).

  4. Anonymous says:

    I love your new lunch bags-lots of space! I thought of you when I was at the co-op and saw a cute “little” lunch bag that looked like a purse. It was cute, but would maybe fit part of a lunch, or one snack!

  5. Diane Tinnes says:

    Ice-packs from IKEA are great. They are hard-plastic containers (less likely to rip open) with a liquid/gel that freezes & they stay cold a really long time. I throw them in my Whole Foods square bag.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Hi Nell, I have the bag on the left and love it. I’ve been amazed at how much it can hold. I put ice packs in it to hold the cold. My favorite, though, came from Williams Sonoma from quite a few years back. It was expensive, but I got it for my many road trips up north. I don’t know if the make them anymore. Thanks for you many posts and insights. Best to you and your family. Pati


Leave a Reply

