Why Jennifer Hudson doesn’t inspire me to lose weight

Jennifer Hudson is a spokesperson for Weight Watchers

I just finished watching a special on 20/20 called “Gaining and losing Weight Means Big Paydays for Celebrities” The story confirmed what I have long believed about celebrity spokespeople for diet plans like Jenny Craig and Weight Watchers: that they get paid gobs (about $30,000 per pound they lose) and they don’t really follow the plans they promote (personal chefs likely contribute more to their weight loss success).

With the success of Jennifer Hudson’s promotion for Weight Watchers, the trend of celebrities shilling for these plans is going to continue and grow. Jessica Simpson is going to be paid $3 million dollars to lose her considerable baby weight. Kirstie Ally, too, famously lost weight with Jenny Craig, only to put it all back on, and then lose it all again with her own company’s Organic Liaison diet (a pretty run of the mill, low-fat diet with a dependence on high-priced supplements).

Jessica Simpson will be paid 3 million to lose weight with Weight Watchers

I don’t begrudge these celebrities how great they look and say they feel now that they have “lost the weight.” I also don’t blame them for the money they make–these endorsements work on huge numbers of us, getting us to buy these tired old diet plans that fail 95% of the time. I myself followed Weight Watchers 13 times in 25 years, ending that journey with 100 extra pounds and a broken spirit.

I guess I just don’t find these loud, look-at-me commercials, filled with stunning before and after pictures, very inspiring anymore (the last time I was tricked by one of these endorsements, “Fergie, the Duchess of York” was the spokeswoman for Weight Watchers). They don’t reflect the reality that I have discovered about what it takes to lose weight for the long term. They don’t tell me that it will take time, or that my body needs to heal from years of metabolic damage (brought on by these same diets). They don’t tell me that I have to eat and nourish myself six times a day with protein, vegetable carbohydrates, and healthy fats in order to drop weight. They also don’t cause me to challenge a belief system–filled with messages like “lose 40 pounds by summer”–that promises a quick fix. I searched for a quick fix for most of my adult life. For this problem of weight, one does not exist.

So who does inspire me? I meet inspiring people every day who are taking risks by going against the grain and challenging the information sold by these tired, failing diet plans. Katherine from Andover, Minnesota who lost 100 pounds on Slimgenics, and has gained all but 10 pounds of it back. She is now looking for a better way to deal with this complex problem. Or, Mary from Cottage Grove who was a dieter her whole life and who expresses regret for modeling this behavior to her two daughters–one obese and one dangerously thin. She is now showing them there is a better way to lose weight and be healthy. These are real people with real, inspiring stories. I don’t know about you, but I’ve left the fantasy of easy, fabulous, quick-fix weight loss promises behind. For me, reality is inspiring.

Who inspires you? Leave a comment.

48 Comments on “Why Jennifer Hudson doesn’t inspire me to lose weight”

  1. following this cool website touche outstanding arguments absolutely love this site this really answered my problem

  2. Distributors for services such as Pre-Paid Legal may rely more on one-to-one networking opportunities than on group events, and affiliates with companies
    such as Amazon Herb Company and Xango may choose
    to focus on sampling products in informal settings.
    Instead their online training teaches you how to use offline marketing and it teaches you how to connect with those using a tool to hold meetings with individuals you connected with using
    primarily offline marketing. Blogs can bring in revenue for their
    owners in means of advertising or sponsorships,
    for example.

  3. ABC102D says:

    Amazing blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?

    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m
    a little lost on everything. Would you advise starting with a
    free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many
    choices out there that I’m totally confused .. Any recommendations?
    Thank you! – ABC102D.

  4. Kellie says:

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest
    twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for
    quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something
    like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  5. Anonymous says:

    This site was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve
    found something that helped me. Appreciate it!

  6. Just desire to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness for your publish is simply spectacular and
    i can assume you are a professional on this subject.
    Fine along with your permission allow me to take hold of your feed
    to stay updated with imminent post. Thanks one million and please carry on the rewarding work.

  7. Because these are second hand wedding dresses you’re
    looking through, NOT newly designed ones. This document is in Word format, so can be
    used as a wedding program template, and just
    replaced with your information. You may also add more
    sheets, including a few sheets of bond paper, at the back section of your binder
    so you can easily find and insert these sheets into other sections when you need them.

  8. If you get into a depression after the death of a
    loved one, you need to think of productive ways of getting over the
    depression. Next, display the student’s attempt at drawing a human face.
    If you smoke cigarettes and you are so concerned about your skin that you are
    spending money on expensive anti wrinkle face cream, then you
    have to stop smoking, now.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Hi there! I’m at work surfing around your blog
    from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all
    your posts! Keep up the superb work!

  10. Anonymous says:

    I’ve been surfing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made good
    content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful
    than ever before.

  11. Anonymous says:

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It
    really useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back
    and help others like you helped me.

  12. cherchom 360 says:

    So I ran out to the nearest store to get the ingredients.
    It is not difficult locating diet shakes as they are available over the counter in local pharmacies
    as well as supplement stores. He should not include a
    certain type of food to his diet simply because he heard that it is good for losing weight.

  13. cherchom says:

    So, anything that causes me to be disinterested in food is
    great, in my book. It is not difficult locating diet shakes as they are available over the
    counter in local pharmacies as well as supplement stores.
    He should not include a certain type of food to his diet simply because he heard that it is good for losing weight.

  14. Guar Gum – The seeds and pods guar gum help to lower blood cholesterol,
    especially low density lipoprotein levels and blood glucose.
    Many people have heard of the Mediterranean diet but are not particularly familiar with
    some of the specifics of the eating routine. Mostly it consists
    of vegetables and fruits rich in vitamins.

  15. If you get into a depression after the death of a loved one, you need to think of
    productive ways of getting over the depression. This shape
    is so versatile that almost any style will work if you make sure to highlight your best
    features. Using the edge of the flat brush continue a line past the edge of the mouth and curl it slightly upwards.

  16. Phase III is where we test back “untested” foods, namely all those foods that
    aren’t included with the MRT test. I try to find a place by myself back stage so I can practice my posing routine.
    00 – 100 g of boiled fish, green salad and a slice of cheese.

  17. Based on the foods from the list of staff is the best way to stay in the project.
    d) Shortness of breath: you lung has to harder to provide oxygen to your body needs.
    There are many top celebrities who believe in a Raw Food Diet Plan.

  18. It is not difficult to maintain your press-and-curl between weekly appointments.
    Smooth Waves – Wet set hair using Velcro rollers and sit under
    a hooded dryer for a couple of hours. Plus, Ragging can be done on different lengths of hair.

  19. You actually need not memorize the kind of foods to eat and which ones to avoid, all you need to learn are the process of
    preparing the best vegetarian diet recipes for weight loss.
    Randall Drake is an accomplished writer of many different types of articles ranging
    from dieting techniques to weight training.
    You can even become one of those infuriating people who seem to eat all the wrong ways and ‘have no problem’.

  20. Parsnips are considered as starchy vegetables, so
    it is recommended to be eaten in place of
    rice, bread or other starchy foods. A friend of mine announced that
    she would like to lose weight. To be safe, do not buy pre-packaged ground turkey if it does not have a
    label showing the nutrient composition.

  21. Very descriptive post, I loved that bit. Will tyere be a part
    2?

  22. This can only be done by showing that the repayments do not break the debt-to-income ratio,
    with states no more than 40% of income can be committed to debt repayment.
    Nowadays, the use of home is not only limited for dwelling purposes, it is also being used to raise finances to fill the cash void.
    Securing approval is still largely down to
    the quality of the application, not the generosity of the lender.

  23. After going over a number of the articles on your web site, I honestly like your technique of writing a blog.
    I bookmarked it to my bookmark webpage list and
    will be checking back in the near future. Please visit my web site as well
    and tell me how you feel.

  24. What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this site regularly, this website is in fact pleasant and the visitors are genuinely sharing good thoughts.

  25. Lydia says:

    I personally seem to go along with all the stuff that was in
    fact put into writing throughout “Why Jennifer Hudson doesnt inspire me to lose weight | My Life Lived With Fat”.
    Thanks for all of the actual information.Thank you,Bernardo

  26. Ann says:

    Curves Complete inspires me! This program is the only true solution to take the weight off, get healthy, stay healthy and NEVER put the weight back on! There is NO program out there like this. The traditional diet industry is designed to keep you in it! It’s a $35 billion industry. Why would they want you to succeed? No one can sustain what these celebrities are paid to do, not even they can sustain it. Just ask Kirsty Alley & Oprah. I feel sorry for them, it’s just one quick fix gimic diet after another. Curves Complete is a holistic approach to weight loss and good health combining exercise, sensible meal plans (using real food and an online program) and one on one coaching for accountability and motivation with coaches certified with the Cleveland Clinic in Ohio (the #1 heart hospital in the country for the past 16 yrs). All Curves Coaches are now certified with the Cleveland Clinic in exercise, nutrition and behavior modification. Curves Complete teaches lifestyle change and the success of this program is astounding! If you follow the simple program they personalize for you, by the time you reach your goal, you will own it! You will never gain your weight back. It’s a process they take you through, holding your hand all the way and all across Canada and the USA pounds are finally falling off, never to return! Thank you Curves!

  27. weightloss says:

    Hello there! This blog post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this. I will forward this post to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a
    great read. Thanks for sharing!

  28. Greetings! I’ve been reading your website for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the fantastic job!

  29. First off I would like to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question
    that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind. I
    was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing.

    I’ve had a difficult time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out. I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Appreciate it!

    • Thanks! I struggle as well. I haven’t posted in a couple of weeks because of a bit of writers block! I guess I would recommend getting everything out and then going back to edit, rather than editing as you Go. This helps me stay centered on the topic!

      Sent from my iPad

  30. garcinia says:

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and
    now each time a comment is added I get three emails with
    the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Thank you!

  31. ro1224Rob says:

    This was an interesting read. I’m not quite sure how I feel about celebrity-endorsed programs, but I am having some of my greatest success every on the new Weight Watchers 360 program. While WW360 isn’t a substantial departure from the old WW and while the Points system continues to guide members in their quest to be thin, what I’ve found is that for the first time I’ve taken control of my journey. In other words, I’m in the driver’s seat and I’m treating WW360 as the vehicle to get me all the way through my journey.

    Using a new personal perspective on portion control (something so many American’s don’t do) coupled with an increase in use of more natural or whole foods (e.g. eliminate all the artificial junk in your diet), I’ve been able to drop 27 pounds in just 12 weeks. I’m dead serious when I say that I have NEVER before experienced this level of success on any weight loss program. And all of this has been possible without exercise, which I plan to add very soon. While I can’t predict as to whether I will make it to my goal or whether I will be able to keep the weight off once I reach maintenance, I know that I am well-positioned to give it my all.

    All that being said, I certainly can recognize and value the statement made by the post author about having tried WW many times over a period of years only to end up 100 pounds heavier and feeling helpless. Though my experiences were quite as extreme, I have certainly felt as if the dieting effort was truly going nowhere and that no program would be able to help me get to where I needed to be for optimal health. I had certainly done my share of yo-yo dieting, and I was frustrated with it. This perspective also made me cautious when I made the decision to give WW360 a spin.

    In terms of dieting, I believe the true culprit to be all the questionable diet foods and artificial sweeteners which take the place of more wholesome food choices. A misleading message for so long has been to avoid unnecessary sugar and fat calories, and this has been something that had pushed millions, if not billions of dieters, in the direction of so-called “replacement foods”, which are filled with artificial substances to mimic sugar and fat. In my humble opinion, sugar and fat are not the enemy, but rather it is the absence of knowledge and understanding of proper portion size and what an adequate set of nutrients looks like. It is next to impossible for someone to make sense of a Nutrition Facts label if they don’t understand what that label is telling them. There is no realistic way for someone without some understanding in this regard to put that information to use in their dieting efforts. I would even venture a guess that some folks reading this comment don’t even know that a product’s ingredients are listed in order of quantity or concentration.

    For years I was a heavy user of sweeteners like NutraSweet and Splenda. During this time I never had any measurable amount of permanent weight loss, save one time when I exercised like a maniac taking five or six cycling classes per week and feeling as if I was married to the elliptical machine at my gym. The more I heard about these substances and the role they played in our bodies, the less I liked about them. The alternative – sugar – wasn’t exactly welcomed in my world either. I had great ambivalence in going back to sugar because I believed that in some manner that would only exacerbate all of my problems and ultimately make me fatter. I was very much wrong in that regard. Today I’ve pared down what would’ve been 6 to 8 teaspoons of sugar (to match the sweetness of 4 packets of Splenda) in a 16 ounce coffee to between 3 to 4 teaspoons. The result has been a reduction in cravings for sweet foods and the aforementioned weight loss.

    Some very interesting research has been going on that suggests artificial sweeteners actually make us crazy more sweet foods; in addition, they deliver the sweetness but not the calories (or energy) that our bodies – and more importantly, our brains – expect to come along for the ride. Glucose has been identified as having a keep role to plan in the regulation of hunger. When glucose is absent and fructose is substituted (think, High Fructose Corn Syrup), the hunger switch is never turned off. The end result is we continue to eat without much regard for how many calories we are consuming.

    A final word on that High Fructose Corn Syrup. It’s in nearly every food that’s label “diet” or “healthy” though manufacturers are starting to get the picture that consumers are wising up to this ingredient and its potential negative impact on health. With research ongoing, HFCS has been linked to heart disease, diabetes, liver disease and obesity. The question I’m asking is that if these claims are true, what the heck is that ingredient doing in a food product designed for use by dieters?

    Best of luck to all of you in your weight loss endeavors.

  32. Debbi Wood says:

    Instead of weight watchers paying celebrities to lose weight, they should pay the workers the excess money that they give to the celebrities who already have money. I would lose quite a bit of weight, too, if I was paid to keep it off. That way I would have enough money to hire a personal chef and trainer.

  33. hcg journal says:

    At this time it seems like BlogEngine is the best blogging platform out there right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

  34. I check your blog everyday Nell. I look for your stories to reinforce my belief that this is the way to eat to be healthy. This story hits it on the head. How come it is so hard to believe it will work. I too lost 135 lbs on slimgenics and was at my goal for one day. I was continually hungry ALL THE TIME. I could not live like that. I was very active and even though I was running and exercising I was putting the pounds back on. Now I am up 60lbs even though I was working out all the time. After starting the Nutrition 4 Weight loss class and hearing you speak I feel I am on the right track. Even though I have not lost any more weight I feel full and hopeful. Thank you Nell

    • Your comment will help so many people. Thank you for reading. I love that you are out there! Believe me, it will happen. Remember, it took a full year before I saw the scale move. Then recently, I gained 10 pounds (it comes back on me so easily!), and I was so frustrated because nothing was happening. Just this past week, after almost giving up, I lost 3 pounds! It was all about treating myself kindly through my imperfect times and getting right back on my plan!

      You inspire me. Did you see I had another woman’s slimgenics experience in there. I am sure there are more of them out there!

  35. m says:

    “Natural Thyroid Health Secrets Revealed.Lose Weight, Increase Your Energy,Improve Your Mood,and Just Feel Great!”
    best crash diet

  36. Kate says:

    Nell,
    You are my inspiration. From the day I first heard you tell your story on “Dishing Up Nutrition” I knew I’d found a kindred spirit. I’m so impressed by you and proud of your accomplishments and so appreciate your generous spirit.
    We all get lured in by the quick-loss stories we hear and think maybe this is the program or pill that’ll give me the success I’ve been hoping for my entire life. No one tells the real story though of the vast number of people who gain back all the weight lost and then some.
    I was once a svelt figure on Nutrisystem … for about 20 minutes. I was flabbergasted at the rate I put on all the weight lost and much, much more. I just heard WW has a 4% success rate, yet we continue to hear “it’s such a good program.” Really? I’ve been on it so many times I lost count. And every time the eating plan had changed drastically. Finally, I’m learning the truth about what foods to eat to heal my body after lifelong abuses to my metabolism, not to mention my spirit.
    Reading your blog and the support you provide has helped me whenever my old way of thinking creeps back and says, “Maybe this other plan will give me faster results.” No. Don’t believe them! It’s all marketing. Save your money for organic veggies. Real food.
    Thank you, Nell, for keeping it real.

    • Ah, Kate! Thank you so much! I love this comment. Yes, the weight loss lasts about 20 minutes before it creeps back on!

      Thank you so much for reading Kate. I am so glad we are friends.

  37. […] more: Why Jennifer Hudson doesn't inspire me to lose weight « My Life … 此条目发表在 Loss Weight 分类目录,贴了 celebrities, celebrity-spokespeople, jenny, […]

  38. Dear Nell,
    Thank you so much for the beautiful post. I am stuck… really stuck. As a personal dev. coach who chose food relationships as a niche because of my own journey is this world I have been feeling so “lost” these days with twenty extra pounds on, no traffic for my programs offered and seemingly no one out there interested in my coaching. Can you tell I am having “one of those days”?

    I can be seduced by these things you mention (the glitz, glamour of celebrity weight loss) in times when I feel like this. I know there are answers waiting for me. I am so grateful you brought my feet back to the ground. Truth is … I still feel like shit and wonder if this twenty will turn to thirty or if I will ever be truly free but thankfully…. I don’t feel like this all the time. And you reminded me of what I value and what inspires me.

    I can not thank you enough!

    Mitzi

    • Wow! Thank you for this. Sometimes the last thing I want to do is write after a long day. You reminded me of why I do this!

      I feel your pain about the 20-30. I am currently struggling with the last 15 or so, and it has slowed to a stop. It has been a year of up and down with the weight. I am idealizing this brief 5 month period last year when I was at my goal weight and I felt great. No one really talks about how hard this is. So, thanks for adding your voice to the conversation. We need to band together!

      Nell

      Sent from my iPad


Leave a Reply

