Kevin Smith Tells Me about Being “Too Fat to Fly”

 

Bookmark and Share

Last night, as part of the Content Marketing World Conference I attended, I went to a Kevin Smith Q and A show (He is the writer, director and podcaster). I got up and asked him about his being tossed off of a Southwest Airlines flight for being too big.

I am trying out something new. Sometimes I get tired of writing (I write for a living). So, I am going to try video every now and again. Leave a comment to let me know what you think!

 

Bookmark and Share

 

8 Comments on “Kevin Smith Tells Me about Being “Too Fat to Fly””

  1. Angela Sterns says:

    Hey Nell,
    Thank you for your honesty and vulnerability. Video is good for you. It clearly demonstrates your authenticity. I would not worry about the emotions coming out. I’m sure you realize how powerful and meaningful they are and it’s unfortunate that we feel the need to apologize for them (in America) isn’t it? I mean heck – God made us with emotions for a reason! Anyway, I appreciate hearing your comments on this issue – well done ; )
    Your new friend Angela from Byerly’s

  2. Laura Kessler says:

    Nell:

    I love your new format. Watching your video made me alot more thoughtful about all of the painful emotions that can go with body image. You really gave me something to think about. Your tears are alot more powerful than words on a computer screen. Keep up the good work.

    Laura

  3. Anonymous says:

    Nell, thanks so much for your honesty and your willingness to go to the deeper, more serious issues! I turn to your blog when I need inspiration and encouragement (and it works every time)!

    Kelly

  4. Jessica says:

    Nell, congratulations on trying something new (video blog) – and welcome back from the conference…. thank you for sharing your conversation with Kevin Smith. (Chasing Amy remains a personal favorite movie. I would have been starstruck!)

    Shared stories (and suffering) about being “big” is so important a social dialogue that most of us aren’t having. This is tough stuff. The humiliation and pain aren’t soon forgotten, if ever.

    I’m sure that many subscribers have their own stories. 30 years after granny could “pinch-an-inch” on me and 25 years after the cruelty of high school classmates, I can’t forget about how that felt. Now it seems that the everyday things get to me…the eager waitress who pushes the egg-white omelette and people who stare when I buy butter and heavy cream. (Maybe I’m hypersensitive to any criticism, especially about size.)

    The stigma of size. What do we do? Humor works temporarily, but it’s like cover-up for the real scar. I hope we can figure out a way to model respect, empathy and compassion for each other (and ourselves!) and hope that goodness will follow.


Leave a Reply

