3 Resources: Salad Dressings Demystified

Pitcher of Salad DressingOn any given grocery day, you can find me in the salad dressing aisle scouring the labels. If I added up all the time I have spent trying to find a dressing that wasn’t packed full of bad oils and preservatives, I think I would be horrified by the number. With all I know about what to avoid, I still find myself letting the fatigue of the search for the “best option” get the best of me. Before I know it, I am putting dressings packed with bad oil (dressings these days use lots of soybean oil and canola oil) in my cart.

So, here is a quick list of dressing resources that have helped me:

  1. Read this article and watch a video of Tamara Brown of Nutritional Weight and Wellness break it down for you. She tells you what grocery store dressings are safe and how to make your own.
  2. Stop reading this post and buy the Schwarzbein Principle Cookbook. It has so many delicious recipes for homemade dressings. My favorites are her ranch and her thousand island. My kid will even eat these!
  3. If you are in a rush, a little olive oil and balsamic vinegar or lemon juice drizzled on your salad is a tasty, healthful option.

What is your favorite recipe? Leave a comment.

3 Comments on “3 Resources: Salad Dressings Demystified”

  1. Barb says:

    My favorite stand-by is a recipe from ohsheglows.com (mostly vegan recipes kind of high in carbs but lots of great vegetable/salad recipes –and she reminds me of my adorable niece!):
    2 T. extra virgin olive oil
    2.5 T. balsamic vinegar
    2 T. apple cider vinegar
    1 t. dijon mustard
    2 t. pure maple syrup (I use 1 t. just to cut down the vinegar a bit)
    1/2 clove minced garlic
    1/4 sea salt (don’t skimp on this)
    fresh ground pepper to taste
    Just put it all in a jar and shake or whisk in a bowl. I have used all kinds of vinegar and they are all good. It is really great on everything and super easy, lasts about 4 to 5 days. Thanks for the other recipes ladies–I will give them and the suggested cookbook a try!

  2. Tracey says:

    in mini chopper add 1/4 mayo or sour cream, little bunch of cilantro, hardy squeeze of lime juice, 1 green onion, and 1/4-1/2 tsp garlic powder and blend. Good on burgers and fish patties as well.

  3. Sally says:

    I like to make ranch w Penzey’s Spices’ Buttermilk Ranch dressing/dip mix. I usually just mix it with sour cream (and water to thin it a bit) to taste (there are directions on the packet as well.)

    Recently the Linden Hills co-op in Minneapolis has been selling housemade dressings in the refridgerated veggie section–bleu cheese made w buttermilk was delicious. they sell it in 10oz bottles and 5 Oz bottles.

    Real dressings like these are highly perishable…which means the stuff at the store has been sitting around and was engineered to sit.


Leave a Reply

