On the Radio: Life and Wallet Changing Nutrition

I was a guest on Dishing Up Nutrition this past weekend (listen online). Again, what fun we had! Here are some pictures from the studio. I mention Kara Carper very often in my posts. She is the nutritionist from Nutritional Weight and Wellness who helped “change my nutrition and change my life.” So now you can put a name to a face.

I also talked (on the radio show) about how eating protein, fat, and carb in balance has not only changed my life, but also saved me money. Here is the breakdown I gave on the show!

Wallet Changing Nutrition

  • $200 saved on smaller sizes. Did you realize that plus size clothing items cost about $10-20 more than regular sizes?
  • $900 saved on skincare and foundation: Now that my skin is nourishing itself, I save about $50 per month on cleansers, toners, and creams. I also don’t need as much concealer and foundation because my skin is not red and inflamed all the time. Also, this is money saved on prescription steroid creams for itchy spots and rashes.
  • $540 on allergy medicine-I was paying $30 a month on allergy medicines.
  • $150 on doctor office copays-Since eating the weight and wellness way, I have been to the doctor 4 times, 2 of those times for an annual physical. My immune system is so strong and consistently strong that I barely get colds anymore.

Grand total savings over 18 months: $1790.00 and counting! I pay more for food now, but not $2000 more. So seeing a nutritionist and eating this way saves me money!

Scenes from Dishing Up Nutrition

Me with Cassie Weness and Kara Carper, Nutritionists with NWW, at the FM 107 studios

Me in action

 

Kara, the cutest nutritionist at the helm!

I think Cassie is talking about gluten!

Can you tell I enjoy this! Also, you can tell that I wasn't lyin' about my skin!



Bookmark and Share

7 Comments on “On the Radio: Life and Wallet Changing Nutrition”

  1. Deb says:

    I have a lot of redness in my skin also. I think it is from my diet. What have you found that helped your redness go away? I’m very curious. BTW, just found your blog today and love it. Thanks for all the great information.

    • Thanks Deb! Yes, redness was a big problem for me. I still have some when I flush, etc. but I have a much smoother complexion now. It took time for that inflammation to heal with the revised diet. I also have found that GLA from borage oil and lots of fish oil (about 3000 mg) help “feed” my skin from the inside out. Also, I feel like dairy had a lot to do with some of the rash outbreaks that I would get.

      I hope this helps!

  2. Barb says:

    Hi Nell,
    I really enjoyed the show! And your skin positively glows! I was wondering regarding the savings if your family embraces your new way of eating or do you still have to cook other things for them? I have 2 sons I’m still cooking for and am introducing changes to them kind of slow so they will get used to it. I can see if they ate the same as me I could save even more. But it is amazing how much you can save when you are not buying soda, chips, crackers and other junk! I’m curious how you are working out the family meals and any handling any resistance to change.

    Thanks and keep up the good work!

    • Ugh! The kids are the toughest. I really struggle with my kid’s sweet tooth. I really just don’t buy the crap. But, then I cave sometimes feeling like I am being a food nazi. I really struggle with figuring out good things that he will eat that are healthy. http://www.weightandwellness.com has some great recipes. Also, the Schwarzbein Principle cookbook has some great recipes that he has liked. Very rich and creamy foods. I am going to write a post, hopefully this week, about this topic. I have gotten a lot of requests for this type of “how do you make it work” advice! Thanks for reading.

  3. cindi says:

    Nell, it was awesome to hear you on the podcast! I hope you do more!

  4. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Nell Kauls, Life Lived With Fat. Life Lived With Fat said: New blog and photos from my latest radio appearance: Life and Wallet Changing Nutrition: http://bit.ly/eQ17fc #weightloss […]


Leave a Reply

