Stop the Cravings Radio Show

I was a guest on Dishing Up Nutrition this past weekend (listen online). We talked about cravings and weight loss. It was a great experience for me. I cannot believe the response I have gotten from people about the topic. My mother called and told me she finally was able to understand why she has struggled with weight (not a weak will, but a biochemically induced cravings). I also talked about the great class Weight and Wellness offers called Nutrition 4 Weight Loss.

If you haven’t already, listen to the show (listen online). I will be on the show again on January 22nd to talk about how nutrition can change your life. We will talk about a variety of topics, including how it can address chronic conditions such as allergies, sleeplessness, etc. Thanks to all who listened and who have commented on my blog!

Nell and Dar Kvist at the FM107 studios in Minneapolis

Nell and Dar Kvist from Nutritional Weight and Wellness at the FM107 studios in Minneapolis

 

Bookmark and Share

8 Comments on “Stop the Cravings Radio Show”

  1. Lesa Lombard says:

    Thank you so much for telling your story. At points you could have been talking about me. I have learned so much from the podcasts and I want more. Too bad I live in Ohio. Thank you and keep talking you are inspiring me to do more!

    • Thank you for listening. When I first started eating this way, I listened to all the back episodes of the podcast. You can access them on http://www.weightandwellness.com. They go back all the way to 2007. Lots of good information.

      Yes, I think our story is all too familiar. I lived so many years being so sad about this problem. I went through a period when I got really mad about it once I had figured out a way to feed MY body. But it really gets better. Even though you live in Ohio, you can do a phone consult with NWW. That way you can get your own tailored meal plan.

      Thanks for reading!

  2. Luana says:

    Hi Nell,
    I heard you on Dishing Up Nutrition last Sat. I’ve been listening to the radio show for a couple of years. I too am a Weight and Wellness alum. I originally took the 6 week Weight and Wellness series of classes in Sept/Oct 2009 in Burnsville. It took me about 8 months and I lost 40 lbs!!! I re-took the 6 week series of classes again this fall in Lakeville. I was skeptical about re-taking the classes, but it was so much more helpful hearing all the information the 2nd time. I’ll be looking forward to hearing you again on the 22nd!

    Luana

  3. kgrenell says:

    Nell, I listened to your Dishing up Nutrition guest spot this evening. I was really impressed with you and your knowledge. I think that you have found your calling.
    Thanks for sharing, a lot of great infomation. I loved it.

    Sincerely,
    Kelly Grenell

  4. Sally says:

    Nell, I think that’s one of the most profound things I’ve learned, from you and Kara and several excellent books on the subject: there is a biochemical motivation for the ‘cravings’. My cravings are different from yours, like we’ve talked about, but that doesn’t matter; a craving is a craving.

    Addressing the biochemistry makes these craving slowly, and surely, dissolve. The dumbest thing in the world is to use willpower to try to defeat it.

    I’m still in my learning phase with the NWW way (as in, I had my appt w Kara in April 2010, but “knowing the talk” is different from “walking the walk” ) which mean I am still so close to the ‘wrong’ ways of eating as I implement the right ways. Yesterday I craved candy at noon, and ate it. Yesterday’s breakfast wasn’t so balanced. Today I ate a great balanced breakfast (sauteed some garlic, cut-up snap pea pods and red bell pepper, tossed in 4oz cold rotisserie chx from last night) and that’s when I find there’s NO candy craving to address or stifle or defeat with willpower.

    I just love that you share your experiences with me (& you can help so many others with your bloggin’ & radio broadcastin’.) And there must be a wonderful sense of connection with your mom–how lovely that she better understands what you’re talking about!!


Leave a Reply

